Repeat: Enrapture Me

Today isn’t new writing. But instead a repost of something I wrote shortly after returning from Israel in May 2010. My heart yearns for Israel even just reading this post. Today I found myself missing it so much, that when I read this post, I remembered that God asks us to look around us here and find him in even the most unexpected of places. This older post is quite relevant to my current situation and to the situation in which i imagine many others also find themselves. I pray that God brings us all new and exciting realizations and shows up in big ways.

So maybe two posts within an hour of each other is excessive, but I had two different streams of thought and didn’t want to overload one post.

Currently I’m reading The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning. I’m almost half way through it, if you haven’t read it, I would highly recommend it. I just made it through a chapter about being in wonder. Completely amazing and surprised, and I would add in sheer joy. Manning brought a good point that we might be completely amazed by the newest things in life, but then we get accustomed to them and they become old and we take them for granted.

“We get so preoccupied with ourselves, the words we speak, the plans and projects we conceive, that we become immune to the glory of creation. We barely notice the cloud passing over the moon of the dewdrops clinging to the rose petals. The ice on the pond comes and goes. The wild blackberries ripen and wither. The blackbird nests outside our bedroom window, bu we don’t see her. We avoid the cold and the heat. We refrigerate ourselves in summer and entomb ourselves in plastic in winter. We rake up every leaf as fast as it falls. We are so accustomed to buying prepackaged meats and fish and fowl in supermarkets, we never think and blonk about the bounty of God’s creation. We grow complacent and lead practical lives. We miss the experience of aw, reverence, and wonder.”

To link this a bit to my last post, I think that when I went to Israel I forced all of my preconceived ideas out the door to make room for God to speak through the place, the people, the culture. I looked at everything as though God was going to show up there and teach me something. I watched the sunsets, I enjoyed the green grass, I appreciated the architecture, I studied the dirt for goodness sake, and I liked it. God taught me through rocks, basic geography.

I came back to the states where my phone is attached to me and I have internet in my room, where things are entirely familiar and I don’t think twice about what type of rock is under my feet. The idea of wonder and aw is completely stripped from this place. I have decided that is crap. I’m going to try to see and observe and look at things through the same eyes I looked at Israel, expecting God to show up everywhere and teach me things I never could have mustered on my own.

I pray that God shows up (as He always does). I pray that he give me the grace of wonder; that he enraptures me.

Leave a Reply

