Solidarity

Some, if not most, of you know that my maternal grandpa passed away this January. It’s been hard. I know that it is even harder for my grandma, mom, and brother as they lived with him everyday and now everything has changed. For me, being far away, sometimes it seems so unreal and then later catches me entirely off guard.

It is absolutely okay to mourn those who we have lost. Sometimes, in the midst of my sadness, I can’t help but feel so overwhelmed by emotion that I wonder where God is. I don’t doubt my faith or question The Lord, but I wonder how he is in the midst of all of the sadness.

Then I remember

32 When Mary came where Jesus was and saw him, she knelt at his feet and said to him, “Lord, if you had been here, my brother would not have died.” 33 When Jesus saw her weeping, and the Jews who came with her also weeping, he was greatly disturbed in spirit and deeply moved. 34 He said, “Where have you laid him?” They said to him, “Lord, come and see.” 35 Jesus began to weep. 36 So the Jews said, “See how he loved him!” 37 But some of them said, “Could not he who opened the eyes of the blind man have kept this man from dying?”

Jesus too lost people that he loved. He has felt the sadness I am feeling, and probably even more so. The Lord knows what I feel, and I can take comfort in that. It doesn’t make the pain to away or the sadness end, but it is good to know that I am not alone.

The people question why Jesus wasn’t there to save Lazarus before he died. Surely he could have healed him. Bt then would we have seen Jesus weep? Would we have been able to know that Jesus went through and experienced the same grief that we still experience today?

So it’s with the weeping Jesus that I am able to let go, mourn, and find rest in my soul. Thank you Lord for being in solidarity with your people.

Leave a Reply

