Travel Day!

So I have just discovered that McCarren International Airport supplies free wifi and being that I have just under an hour before my flight boards I will take this time to fill in all of you lovely people about what today has in store.

Yesterday I spent most of the day shopping for last minute necessities like a personal cup (yes they told me to bring one…strange I know) and a clipboard. Then I decided at about 7:30pm that it was a good time to start my packing. It took me quite some time considering I have a lot of crap. I took a break to hang out and say goodbye to Blair and Jason (which is always a riot. love them). This brought about a 2am bedtime after watching Idol. So this morning, needless to say, 5:45 came way too fast, but shockingly enough, I am more awake than normal, though I suspect that this will be a passing thing in about three hours.

So once I was awake and decently ready I ate breakfast and grabbed all of my last minute things to throw into the already jam packed suitcases. Upon arrival to the airport it was pretty much dead. It was weird, considering that this is Vegas where there are always a million people flooding in to waste their hard earned (or not) money. So I go to check my bags, and luckily for me US airways lets me check 2 bags for free because I am flying to the middle east. Maybe they figure it is because the people who go to the middle east should be spared because they have a larger threat on their life? I don’t know. Either way I had to pay because one of my bags was 59.something pounds and the limit is 50. So I payed 50 bucks to send one of my bags. Unfortunately, though the other was significantly underweight, there was no way I could take 9 lbs of junk out of one and fit it into the smaller of the two suitcases.

So now, here I sit, at gate A15 waiting for it to be boarding time so that I can get on a plane that will take me to Philadelphia. I am not excited about the fact that this plane flight is going to almost 5 hours long. I could get to Hawaii in that time. (Grammy is going there with Auntie Kathy this summer and I’m jealous…just sayin’) After my I’d-rather-fly-to-Hawaii flight I will be in the snowy Philadelphia for a 4 hour layover where hopefully I will be able to meet up with some people that are on my flight that will be going to JUC (that’s Jerusalem University College for those of you who don’t know or aren’t good with acronyms). Then, at 9pm est I will be boarding a plane to Tel-Aviv! From what I’ve heard it will be about an 11 hour plane flight, hopefully, most of which I will spend sleeping, but we shall see. Once off the plane in Israel I will take a Sherut (basically a taxi van shared with other people) to Jerusalem to the college!

So that, ladies and gentleman pretty much sums up what today will be. (note: today will be more than 24 hours…) So while this entry may not be the most invigorating or inspiring thing I have ever written, it has passed the time well and hopefully kept you well informed about what is going on in my life at present in the last few hours that I will be in the US of A (on the ground at least).

Thanks for taking the time to stop by!

χάρις ὑμῖν καὶ εἰρήνη ἀπὸ θεοῦ πατρὸς ἡμῶν καὶ κυρίουἸησοῦ Χριστοῦ.

2 thoughts on “Travel Day!

  1. Josiah Philip says:

    Oh Alicia! I am so excited your adventure of a lifetime is beginning. I was reading your lovely lines of literature above and I came to one that is uncomprehending for me! It is the line in the foreign language 🙂 I recognized it is Greek, but it is not modern Greek which is the problem. You see when I saw this lovely line I immediately plugged it in to Microsoft Word Translator, however only four words translated. It is tragic to tell you the truth 🙂 Well to get down to what I am really trying to say. What does the line in Classical Greek say??? Anyway, I better go. I will talk to you soon 🙂

  2. Karl Johnson says:

    Dear Alicia,
    I would also like to point out that, due to that fact that you are now (or, at the point you wrote this, heading for) Israel, your biblical language posts should probably be in Hebrew for the duration of your stay in the Holy Land.
    Love, Karl

Leave a Reply

